Broadway Records to Release Cast Album of MEET JOHN DOE

Meet-John-DoeFrom Press Release:

Meet John Doe, the Jonathan Larson Award-winning musical by Andrew Gerle and Eddie Sugarman, will be released on the Broadway Records label on November 19th, 2013.  The album can be pre-ordered on and features Heidi Blickenstaff ([title of show], Addams Family), who received a 2007 Helen Hayes Award for the show’s world premiere production at the Ford’s Theatre in DC.  Joining her from the Ford’s production are James Moye (Million Dollar Quartet, Full Monty) as John Doe and two-time Tony Award nominee Joel Blum (Show Boat, Steel Pier), as well as Tony Award nominee Robert Cuccioli (Jekyll & Hyde, Spiderman), John Jellison (Memphis), and Andrew Keenan-Bolger (Newsies).

“We fell in love with the witty dialogue and complicated love story of the film,” said Sugarman, “and knew that Andrew could write a terrific jazz-inspired score to go along with that.”

“What we didn’t realize was how relevant the political message would become as we worked on the show,” added Gerle.  “Capra’s message of everyday folks triumphing over corporations and fat cats feels more important today than ever, and audiences really responded to that.”

Meet John Doe is a wonderful new musical that has had several productions around the country.  We are honored to have the opportunity to release its Original Studio Cast Recording,” said Van Dean, co-founder of Broadway Records.

Meet John Doe is based on the classic Frank Capra film from 1941, starring Barbara Stanwyck as ambitious reporter Ann Mitchell, and Gary Cooper as out-of-work baseball pitcher John Willoughby. When Mitchell is fired in the depths of the Depression, she pens a prank letter to her own column from a “John Doe,” who is planning to jump off the Brooklyn Bridge on New Year’s Eve to “protest the state of society.” When the letter is unexpectedly printed, “John” becomes a citywide sensation, and Ann muscles her way back into her job, ghostwriting columns for him. To play John, she hires Willoughby, who turns out to be much more than a handsome face. After John Doe creates a national movement of community organizations, newspaper owner D.B. Norton tries to cash in on John Doe’s popularity, and Ann and the real John must decide how far they’ll go to protect what they’ve created.

Song Listing:

1. Yesterday’s News (Robert Cuccioli, Andrew Keenan-Bolger, Heidi Blickenstaff, Ensemble)
2. I’m Your Man (Heidi Blickenstaff)
3. Page Eight, At the Top / Fast Talking (Heidi Blickenstaff, John Jellison, Andrew Keenan-Bolger, Ensemble)
4. I Hope You Can See This (Heidi Blickenstaff)
5. I Feel Like a Man Again (James Moye)
6. Get the Picture (James Moye, Heidi Blickenstaff)
7. Be More (Robert Cuccioli, Heidi Blickenstaff)
8. Money Talks (Andrew Keenan-Bolger, Joel Blum)
9. He Threw Me (Heidi Blickenstaff)
10. He Speaks to Me (Brian Munn, James Moye, Heidi Blickenstaff, Robert Cuccioli, Ensemble)
11. Entr’acte / Meet John Doe Jingle (Andrew Gerle, Pamela Bob, Channez McQuay, Steven Booth)
12. Thank You (Ensemble)
13. Bigger Than Baseball (Robert Cuccioli, Heidi Blickenstaff, James Moye, Joel Blum, John Jellison, Ensemble)
14. Who the Hell (Forgot to Tell My Heart) (Heidi Blickenstaff, James Moye)
15. Lighthouses (John Jellison)
16. New American Times (James Moye, Heidi Blickenstaff)
17. Finale (Between Manhattan and Brooklyn) (Heidi Blickenstaff, Ensemble)

Available November 19, 2013 on



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s