Stephen Sondheim’s MARRY ME A LITTLE Gets New Cast Album

Marry-Me-A-Little-2013From Press Release:

Ghostlight Records has announced the release of MARRY ME A LITTLEthe New Cast Recording. The album, based on the recent hit production by The Keen Company and featuring the songs of Stephen Sondheim, stars Lauren Molina and Jason Tam. MARRY ME A LITTLE will be available from digital outlets on September 24, and the disc will be in stores on November 19.

MARRY ME A LITTLE was conceived by Craig Lucas and Norman René, and directed by Keen Artistic Director Jonathan Silverstein. The production was nominated for a 2013 Drama League Award for Outstanding Musical Revival.

The album is produced by Joel Moss, with Kurt Deutsch serving as Executive Producer.  The Musical Director is John Bell.

Weaving together several rarely-heard Sondheim songs, MARRY ME A LITTLE tells the charming and bittersweet tale of love, loneliness and survival of modern singles.  Two strangers, left alone in their studio apartments on a Saturday night, pass their time with sweetly secret, shared fantasies, never knowing that they’re just a floor away from each other and the end of their lonely dreams.

This recording contains material from Sondheim’s catalogue that was added to MARRY ME A LITTLE for the first time as part of this production:  “Ah, But Underneath” (written for the London premiere of Follies), replacing “Uptown, Downtown” and “If You Can Find Me, I’m Here” (Evening Primrose) replacing “Pour Le Sport,” as well as “Bring on the Girls” (from Follies). The score also features “Saturday Night,” “So Many People,” “A Moment With You” (from Saturday Night), “Bang!,” “Silly People”  (cut from A Little Night Music), “Can That Boy Foxtrot!,” “All Things Bright and Beautiful,” “It Wasn’t Meant to Happen,” “Little White House,”  “Who Could Be Blue?”  (cut from Follies), “The Girls of Summer” (from The Girls of Summer), “Your Eyes Are Blue” (cut from A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum), “Marry Me A Little,” “Happily Ever After” (cut from Company), and “There Won’t Be Trumpets” (cut from Anyone Can Whistle).


Song Listing:

1. If You Can Find Me, I’m Here

2. Saturday Night

3. Can That Boy Foxtrot!

4. Bring On The Girls

5. All Things Bright And Beautiful / Bang! / All Things Bright And Beautiful (Part 2)

6. The Girls of Summer

7. Ah, But Underneath

8. Who Could Be Blue? / Little White House

9. So Many People

10. Your Eyes Are Blue

11. A Moment With You

12. Marry Me A Little

13. Happily Ever After

14. Silly People

15. There Won’t Be Trumpets

16. Rainbows / Night Waltz

17. It Wasn’t Meant To Happen

# # #


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s