MTMag Sneak Peek: Q&A With Tony Award-winning LEGEND Carol Channing


Carol-Channing-Michael-Davis-400© 2013 by Trish Causey for Musical Theatre Magazine.

LEGEND: The One and Only Tony Award-winner Carol Channing

by Trish Causey

Looking back over your long career, what was your favorite show you ever did and why?

CAROL:  It’s always the next one.  The next show always has to be your favorite. Although, working with George (Burns) will remain a highlight in my life and career.

Do you have a favorite backstage story — a funny or weird situation that happened backstage during a show but the audience never knew?

CAROL:  I don’t know if they are weird or not, but Jackie Kennedy came backstage once with Caroline and John John.  It was their first public appearance after the assassination.  They came to a matinee.  But then when you’re in a hit show, the world comes through your dressing room.  Weird?  To be honest, I think most of the truly weird things happened on stage in front of the audience.

What do you do to stay in shape — dance, yoga, etc.?

CAROL:  I have a trainer who comes in three times a week.  At my age you have to be extra diligent, and he is so patient with me.  We do a lot of work in the pool.  Esther Williams would be very happy.

What do you think of shows like “Glee” and “Smash” that portray Broadway and Broadway dreams?

CAROL:  Oh…I’m embarrassed to say I have never seen either of them.  Although, everyone tells me about “Glee,” and it sounds wonderful.  I think my agent was trying to get me a cameo on “Glee,” but they turned me down.  Oh well.

To read the rest of this article and see Carol’s advice for young Musical Theatre performers, SUBSCRIBE to Musical Theatre Magazine!

trish

Subscribe-Musical-Theatre-Magazinebutton-facebookbutton-twitter

Leave a Reply

